Chastity Brown Announces Autumn UK Tour

An artist who can plumb the depths of sadness in a single note, then release it in the very next breath, Chastity Brown is excited to announce her return to the UK this Autumn with a full tour through September and October.

 

Chastity Brown UK Tour Dates:

Thursday 20th September – The Stables, Milton Keynes
Saturday 22nd September – The String Jam Club, Selkirk
Sunday 23rd September – Sound In The Suburbs @ Nice and Sleazy, Glasgow
Monday 24th September Henry Tudor House, Shrewsbury
Wednesday 26th September – The Victoria Hotel, Menai Bridge
Thursday 27th September – Kitchen Garden Cafe, Birmingham
Friday 28th September – Music In The Hall @ St George’s Hall, Bewdley
Saturday 29th September – Black Dyke Mills Heritage Venue, Bradford
Sunday 30th September – Jumpin Hot @ The Earl of Pitt Street, Newcastle
Tuesday 2nd October – Green Note, London
Wednesday 3rd October – Live @ The Hyde Tavern, Winchester
Saturday 6th October – The Pennoyer Centre, Pulham St Mary
Sunday 7th October – Cosmic Americana @ The Running Horse, Nottingham

 

 

Based in Minnesota, but with roots in Tennessee, Chastity grew up surrounded by country and soul music. In the full gospel church of her childhood, she played saxophone and drums and found her singing voice and a passion for music.

Her first show was in Knoxville, TN, and then it was on to Minneapolis. Since then, she’s been featured on NPR’s “Favorite Sessions,” American Songwriter, The Sunday Times, The Independent and the Daily Mirror to name just a few. Chastity has toured the US and Europe, appearing on Later…with Jools Holland a couple of year’s ago when touring the UK. For much of 2016 / 2017 she toured alongside folk icon/ activist Ani Difranco and has recently toured with LGBTQ poet Andrea Gibson.

Chastity melds Folk / Pop, Roots & Soul on her acclaimed album Silhouette Of Sirens, released on RED HOUSE RECORDS in the UK last Spring. Weaving together a poet’s lyrical ear and a soul-laid-bare quality, Chastity’s music embraces the political, covering topics of identity and belonging.

 

“What I’ve realized is that the personal is political,” Brown said in a recent interview. “Just by me being a bi-racial, half-black, half-white woman living in America right now is political. Just being a person of color, a queer woman of color, for that matter, is freaking political. My focus, as far as this record, I guess it’s really been psychological. I’m really intrigued by the perseverance of the human spirit and the complexities and contradictions that we embody as human beings.