Curse Of Lono Enter the Official Top 40 UK Americana Album Chart with ”As I Fell”

Acclaimed five-piece Curse Of Lono returned with their second album ‘As I Fell’ on August 17th and it entered both the Independent Album Breakers Chart as well as the Americana Album Chart this week!!

As I Fell, produced by Oli Bayston (Boxed In) at Rancho V, a remote desert studio in Joshua Tree and Flesh & Bone Studios in Hackney; is accompanied by a documentary ‘Somewhere In Their Heads’ by Gregg Houston (Noel Gallagher, Two Door Cinema Club).

Somewhere In Their Heads:



The first single released from ‘As I Fell’ was “Valentine”- “Valentine is about the kind of murderous jealousy that twists you up until you don’t recognise yourself anymore,” says frontman Felix Bechtolsheimer. “The sort of dejection that will make you do things you know you will regret. I think the vocal harmonies floating over the tribal beat, distorted bass and filthy baritone guitar going through a tiny 1950’s Selmer practice amp, really capture that feeling.”

Curse Of Lono – Valentine:



‘As I Fell’ is a follow up to the band’s debut album Severed, one of the most critically acclaimed debuts of 2017, and builds on Curse Of Lono’s deeply cinematic blend of harmony-laden Americana and driving, gothic alt-rock.


1. Valentine
2. Way To Mars
3. And It Shows
4. I’d Start A War For You
5. Kathleen
6. Blackout Fever
7. Tell Me About Your Love
8. As I Fell
9. The Affair
10. No Trouble
11. Leuven


Although some of the songs on ‘As I Fell’ revisit familiar themes like murderous jealousy and the
death of loved ones, much of the album covers new ground.

“Leuven”, with its sumptuous string arrangement, recalls the stories Felix’s grandfather told him
about growing up as a half-Jew in Nazi Germany and a devastating train crash he survived in
1954 after the first football international between England and West Germany after World War 2.

“It was one of the worst train crashes in Belgian history,” says Felix. “My grandfather and his
brother were on their way home from Wembley, when their train derailed outside Leuven in
Belgium. He told me that he was never able to shake the image of their coats soaked in blood as
he and his brother dragged the bodies from the wreck.”

Despite a conscious attempt to close the door on the heroin-related material that has inspired
much of Felix’s previous work, ‘As I Fell’ does include a couple of old songs that have patiently waited their turn. The most notable is “And It Shows”, the first song Felix wrote after he gave up heroin and methadone.

“I was only a couple of weeks out of detox, living in a halfway house in Delray Beach. My best
friend had passed away a few months earlier, my girlfriend of five years was gone and I was
climbing the walls. It was a very dark time and the only thing I had to cling to were the songs that
kept pouring out. I thought that I had exhausted that well when we started working on this album
but despite my desperate attempts not to go back there, this song wouldn’t leave me alone. Eventually I backed down and gave it another chance. I’m glad I did. It’s a time capsule.”

Curse Of Lono recently completed a UK headline tour, including a sold-out show at London’s
Lexington, and will be appearing at many UK Festivals this summer, plus support slots with Steve
Earle, Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes, and Cordovas.