DESERT MOUNTAIN TRIBE : ‘High Drive’ new single from second album out 1st June + launch show in London 30th May

The London based alternative/indie rock trio Desert Mountain Tribe will release their second album on
1st June. ‘Om Parvat Mystery’ is co-produced by the band with James Aparicio and was recorded in
London and the Faroe Islands. Najma Akhtar, the well known British singer of Indian ancestry who
has previously collaborated with the likes of Page & Plant and Jah Wobble as well as making several
acclaimed solo albums in her own right, features on two songs.



Describing the new album, DMT say : “We’re very proud of this new record. It definitely shows a
progression from our personal tastes in music and style of playing. We didn’t consciously make an
effort to sound different from the first album but it felt like a natural development to a more
experimental sound.”

Bassist Philipp Jahn adds : “Personally the album also feels very important as it is a transition for the
band in terms of personnel as it is our last record featuring Felix while at the same time introducing
Frank.” Philipp’s brother Felix left the group in autumn 2017 and was replaced by Frank van der Ploeg.

The first single from the new album was ‘Wide Eyes’. Released in March, it has had multiple
plays on BBC 6 Music, Amazing Radio and elsewhere.



A launch event for ‘Om Parvat Mystery’ will take place in London at The Lexington on 30th May.
Information about the evening can be found here : 

Desert Mountain Tribe will also play an Alternative Escape show at Shortt’s Bar in Brighton
during the afternoon of 19th May :


Formed in 2012, Desert Mountain Tribe released their debut album, ‘Either That Or The Moon’, in the
spring of 2016 to positive reviews from UK publications such as Shindig, Classic Rock, Louder Than
War, Drowned In Sound and The Arts Desk. Singles from the record included the Youth remixed
‘Enos In Space (Top Of The World)’ and ‘Interstellar (BvB Version)’. Edited from its original nine
minute duration to just under five, this epic song also boasted a superb video check it out below:



Jonty Balls (vocals/guitar) / Philipp Jahn (bass) / Frank van der Ploeg (drums)