Goldblume ‘Husk’ released 9th November

In the three years since their 2015 formation, Cambridge-based alternative three-piece, Goldblume, have gone from strength to strength as they worked away in the shadows. The result of their labours? The band’s debut album, HUSK, set for a 9th November 2018 release on Aaahh!!! Real Records.

HUSK is a record that is impossible to pigeonhole neatly, drawing aspects of math-rock, grunge, punk and alternative rock. Following on from 2015’s Real Nice and 2017’s Go Figure EPs—as well as the standalone single, ‘Fawning’, and a session with BBC Introducing—HUSK is a mature step forwards, showing Goldblume in a whole new light, and reaching a new level of songwriting craftsmanship.

The new album is a three-year journey into trying to find a sense of self and connecting it to the face you see in the mirror. HUSK is a record which encourages you to be kinder to you, and to better understand the mental state of other people, as well as your own.


01 Husk 3:14
02 Razor 2:08
03 Tomorrow 2:20
04 Fiendish 2:45
05 Fill Your Boots 4:12
06 We All Know Why and Who 2:48
07 Alice 3:04
08 Loose Fruits Part I 3:10
09 Loose Fruits Part II 4:14
10 Loose Fruits Part III 3:42



It’s about no longer wondering who that person is, staring back at you. It’s about trying to be patient and loving to yourself and your mental state, and developing a safe way to cope and survive. It’s about growth and emotional balance; learning to hear something that you can’t believe—or you never considered to be true—and retaining the ability to not melt down if and when those perceived walls finally fall down.

“I am pretty easily caught up in sensational things, but also terribly anxious, and these two ideals sometimes jar pretty hard,” says guitarist and vocalist Jethro Steel. “I want to do or say great things and not settle for acting passive or being naïve, but then I think a certain amount of sensational and beautiful things come from exactly that. It’s this malaise and frustration, then you are suddenly waking up, realising you don’t really know what it is you’re going to do next, but you know it’s overwhelming, everything all at once.”

While writing HUSK each song rarely came easily, taking the band two years in total to complete. The tracks were inspired by dreams; riffs spawned from music store test rooms, and lyrics found life on the lakefronts of Milwaukee.

Recorded by David Leighton at River Run Studios in Potton, Cambridgeshire and self-produced and mixed by the band themselves at guitarist Jethro’s home studio, these 10 tracks are a dichotomy—bold, emotional and powerful, but also intricate and delicate.

HUSK will be available on Deluxe CD and through all digital outlets from November 9th 2018 on Aaahh!!! Real Records.

Goldblume are:

Jethro Steel – Guitar, Vocals
Tim West – Bass
Matt Kilsby – Drums