On September 21st, symphonic death metal collective MaYaN will enlighten your spirit with their epic new album Dhyana. For this prodigious third studio masterpiece, the international 10 piece raised over €40.000 through a crowdfunding campaign to be able to enlist the skills of The City Of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra, known for their work in cinematic features such as the Star Wars saga, Hannibal and many more. The new full-length release reflects on conceptual themes such as self awareness and relinquishing our ego and self-conceited tendencies to find out who we truly are.

Today, you can finally get a first impression of Dhyana through the band’s first single, ‘The Rhythm of Freedom’ that comes with a lyric video.

Watch it here:



Mastermind Mark Jansen states:
“‘The Rhythm of Freedom’ references the sensation of pure freedom you feel when riding your bike or bicycle. This also refers to the album title Dhyana, which stands for the moment where the mind gets absorbed by the heart and you feel total happiness without worries about the past and future. But the mind, like a predator, is always waiting for the moment to take over control again.

We picked this song as our first single as it’s the first impression people will get from the new MaYaN album. In it you hear the dynamic sounds in our music, layered with the City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra who we recorded this album with. Expect a song that is heavy, yet melodic. Enjoy!”



Pre-order starts today and you can now get the format of your choice via this link:
Presave the album on Spotify:
Download or stream ‘The Rhythm of Freedom’ here:
Order the album digitally to receive the track ‘The Rythm of Freedom’ as an instant grat track:


Dhyana will be available to pre-order in the following formats:
Jewel case incl. bonus instrumental CD in O-card
Limited Edition Gold Vinyl (limited to 300 copies!)
Limited Edition Black Vinyl


MaYaN is:
Mark Jansen, George Oosthoek | grunts
Henning Basse, Adam Denlinger | clean male vocals
Laura Macrì, Marcela Bovio | clean female vocals
Jack Driessen | synths, orchestral arrangements
Frank Schiphorst, Merel Bechtold/Arjan Rijnen/Jord Otto | guitars
Roel Käller | bass
Ariën van Weesenbeek | drums