SABER TIGER Return With ‘Obscure Diversity’ + New Official Video

Filmed primarily on their recent Baltic Tour, Saber Tiger’s brand new official video features the band both on stage and backstage at the various venues they played.

The track is titled Permanent Rage.

Check it out below:



Legendary Japanese metal band Saber Tiger release their first new studio album in three years with the phenomenal Obscure Diversity, an album which proves that the band are at the absolute peak of their powers, moving ever forward and proving true talent and fire knows no age.

Obscure Diversity shows a band that has no intention of slowing down more than three and a half decades after their genesis. If anything, their trademark blend of classy melodicism and fierce intensity is in better balance than ever. Tracks like speed monsters The Crowbar Case and Permanent Rage feature every aspect that fans have come to expect from Saber Tiger; from the whirlwind guitar work of Akihito Kinoshita and Yasuharu Tanaka to Takenori Shimoyama’s passionate vocals and the intricate rhythms of drummer Yasuhiro Mizuno and bassist hibiki. Beat Of The War Drums is heavy and modern, while more atmospheric tracks like The Shade Of Holy Light and The Forever Throneshow a surprisingly introspective side of the band without sacrificing any of the band’s renowned heaviness.

Distant Signals, hibiki’s first songwriting contribution to Saber Tiger’s body of work, even manages to take the band to surprisingly progressive territories. Saber Tiger pulls all of these musical directions off with equal class and conviction, truly accounting for the diversity that they have promised in the album’s title.


01. Daguerreotype Of Phineas Gage
02. The Crowbar Case
03. The Worst Enemy
04. Stain
05. Beat Of The War Drums
06. Distant Signals
07. The Shade Of Holy Light
08. Permanent Rage
09. Seize Your Moment
10. Divide To Deny
11. Paradigm And Parody
12. The Forever Throne
Bonus Track:
13. The Forever Throne (Acoustic Version)


Album cover created by Hayato Nove. Concept by Fubito Endo.

Obscure Diversity | Released October 10th, 2018 on Sliptrick Records

Mixed and mastered by Simone Mularoni, guitarist of Italian progressive power metal band DGM and owner of the Domination Studio in San Marino.

Saber Tiger are:
Takenori Shimoyama – Vocal | Akihito Kinoshita – Guitar | Yasuharu Tanaka – Guitar | Yasuhiro Mizuno – Drums | Hibiki – Bass