SHOVELHEAD Celebrate 10 Year Anniversary of “Arson & Lace” Album With New Video “Big Time Loser”

A family affair comprised of the Rakic brothers, Marko (vocals, guitar), Alex (bass), Nikola (drums) along with their long time childhood friend Youri Targiroff on lead guitar, Montreal’s SHOVELHEAD have been offering sonic gems that are simply irresistible since forming in 1995. Having toured Eastern Canada to garnering praise on the local scene to living their dreams in Southern California and back to their hometown, SHOVELHEAD has always been unstoppable with their bone crushing heavy rock to their subdued ballads.

Serenading with melodic vocal lines and a signature guitar style, the alternative rock quartet have released three full lengths Pocus Cadabra (1996), Dark Horse (1999), Arson and Lace (2007). Now after a 10 year hiatus from recording, they return in 2018 with an anniversary video “Big Time Loser” for “Arson and Lace” plus are currently working on their planned fourth full length entitled “Killer Waves”, which will be recorded once again with award winning producer/engineer/mixer Glen Robinson who has worked with names such as The Ramones, AC/DC, GWAR, Annihilator and Voivod.

Watch “Big Time Loser” below:



The band comments:

“Lyrically the song is about hope and failure. It’s about the hopefulness of youth and blind ambition followed by the reality of limitations, life and failure. It’s about setting out goals that ultimately never come to fruition and looking back at them in perspective. The reality of failure is difficult to accept and equally difficult to let go of the hope. Overall, the video is an artistic rendition of the emotions of the song. It’s in black and white to define the absolute between the hope and the failure. Not intended to be literal, but more so to emote the feelings of the song.”


SHOVELHEAD’s latest album “Arson and Lace” plus previous releases available on, CD Baby, iTunes and all other major online retailers.

Check out the music video for Digital Skin below:



Alex Rakic (Bass)
Marko Rakic (Vocals, Rhythm Guitar)
Nikola Rakic (Drums)
Youri Targiroff (Lead Guitar)