Youth Killed It Unveil New Video For ‘Great British Summer’

London/Norwich Crew Youth Killed It have unveiled the cheeky and cheery video for seasonal single ‘Great British Summer’. Frontman/guitarist Jack Murphy says of the piece: “The majority was filmed by our good friend and videographer Rob Aiano during our time at the Isle of Wight for the festival. Then with some reshoots and special sauce, voila, a music video for the ages. We’re pretty sure that like 99% of Britain suffers from SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder) so it’s about how we need some Vitamin D to cheer us all up.”



The single is the latest to be taken from their newly announced sophomore album. Entitled ‘What’s So Great, Britain?’, it will see release via Rude Records on 5th October, with Murphy setting the scene:  “Everything I’ve experienced over the last 14 months led to the creation of this record. Things that affect and impact the life of someone in their 20’s – from society to relationships. It’s been a mad 18 months for Britain and my personal life in general, so I really put my heart on my sleeve with this one.” 

The record is available to pre-order here, featuring instant grats of the new single, plus two others recently unveiled: lead single ‘Where Did I Go Wrong?’ and title track ‘What’s So Great, Britain?’.


1. What’s So Great, Britain?
2. Headbutt
3. Where Did I Go Wrong?
4. Great British Summer
5. The Getaway
6. 0121
7. What You’re Thinking
8. Already Dead
9. No Money, No Monday
10. Peaceful House
11. This Sounds Cliché
12. On My Own



Completed by Carlos Montero and Josh Arter-Taylor on guitar, Josh Thexton on bass and Ben Ford on drums, Youth Killed It say “it’s hard to pinpoint where exactly our sound comes from, somewhere deep within the recesses of our minds probably.” The members have an eclectic range of tastes, from funk to indie, to alt-rock, blues, and prog metal. In fact, the band began life in Norfolk as metal-band ‘Under The Influence’, before reforming in 2016 with their current moniker and aspirations of “writing songs about never doing the dishes, hating their day jobs and having fun, not taking things too seriously in a world where everything is taxing and exhausting.” Signing with Rude Records on the strength of 2 EPs, saw the band release their debut album ‘Modern Bollotics’ in mid-2017.

For ‘What’s So Great, Britain?’, the Norwich crew initially began working with a production team before rethinking this, preferring to self-record at Crystal Sound Studios, as Murphy explains: “Our sound just wasn’t where we wanted it to be, so Carlos and I produced it. It gave us more time and fewer restrictions. It really is from start to finish a band job: no extra writers, no producers, just us.” Capturing a raw and impassioned sound comparable to the likes of The Clash, Arctic Monkeys, and Blur, they return with more nostalgic 90’s riffs, stream-of-consciousness vocal deliveries, and charming hooks. Murphy declares: “Our sound has developed and matured into something I’m seriously proud of. I hope it resonates the way I want it to, as me and the boys put everything into it and as much as I love the last one, this one really is close to my heart.”


Youth Killed It’s Currently Announced Live Dates:



6th October – Manchester, Aatma

7th October – Norwich, Epic

9th October – Birmingham, Subside

10th October – Bristol – Hy-Brasil

12th October -London, Notting Hill Arts Club